Kevin Timmerman Takes Home All the Doubloons on Pirate Night at WCIS

Kevin Timmerman Takes Home All the Doubloons on Pirate Night at WCIS

By: Shylo Fuchs

Photo Credit: Mike Piccirilli


A perfect summer’s eve would give way to some excellent racing at ‘The Bullring’ on Pirate Night.  We would see the Grandpa Dog 4 Cylinders, Super Stocks, 6 Cylinders and SST Modifieds all in action trying to take home the booty and all the glory that goes with it.

Starting off the evening would be the Grandpa Dog 4 Cylinders who would go green to checkered without a single caution.  The #54 of Briar Dils would take the early lead over Dave Heimes in his #8 and would not look back.  Greg Moldt in his #51 would climb from his tenth place starting position to third within the first 6 laps and would hold there to the finish.  Lapped cars would not cause any problems and the race would finish within minutes of starting.

Briar Dils captures his first career win at The Bullring on Pirate Night (Photo Credit: Mike Piccirilli)

The Super Stocks would be next to hit the track and this one wouldn’t go as smoothly as the last. On lap 6 an accident between the #11K of Dave Krawczyk and the #14 of Daniel Majchrzak would also involve the #33 of Frank Kline and the #12 of Chase Williams resulting in the #33 retiring for the evening and the others being sent tail for their involvement.  The following lap the #47 of Eric Hastreiter would go hard into the turn 1 wall after making contact with the #32 of Russ Bulger, Sr.  Hastreiter would also not be able to continue after this incident. 

Joe Horvatits in his #4 would take the lead on lap 4 and would just be waiting for the #11K to reach him after being sent tail.  Krawczyk would be making his way back through the field and would slowly be climbing back toward the front taking over the lead only after the first and second place cars of Horvatits and Williams came together fighting for the lead in turns three and four causing both of them to spin and take up at the rear of the field.

Krawczyk would maintain the inherited lead through to the checkered while Williams made his way back to second place after the previous incident. 

Dave Krawczyk continues his winning ways on Pirate Night (Photo Credit: Mike Piccirilli)

In the 6 Cylinders the racing action would continue.  These racers would spend the majority of the race swapping positions without incident with the #14 of Frank Parsons, Jr. leading through to lap 12 where the #36 of Brian Hallett would take over.  Parsons, Jr. would fall quickly and eventually find himself lapped before drawing the first and only caution for a blown tire that caused home to hit the wall in turn 2.  After quickly changing the tire he would return to the racing surface but would have a second unfortunate problem that would force him to retire to the infield.  Brian Hallett would win the feature with the #16 of Robert Cassidy and the #95 of John Parthemer finishing out the top 3.

Brian Hallett collected win number 3 in the 6 Cylinder feature event (Photo Credit: Mike Piccirilli)

The mighty SST Modifieds would round out the racing card.  The #68 of Nate Michielsen and #42 of Ryan Nugent would lead the field of 16 to the green flag.  Nugent would get the jump and grab the top spot in turn one.  Nugent would lead laps 1 through 3 before the #96P of Jeff Pringle would get by him snagging the top spot.  Caution would fly on lap 11 when the #68 of Michielsen would spin in turn 3.

Pringle would retain the lead on the restart with the #11T of Kevin Timmerman moving into the runner up position.  Caution would once again fly on lap 17 as the #42 of Nugent and the #40 of Alan Bookmiller would get together.  The #27V of Maddy Virts, #9 of Bill Kosachook, and the #5 of Zach Kosachook would also be involved.

Timmerman would grab the top spot on the restart and look to set sail for victory lane.  Pringle would find himself battling with the #96 of Garry Coon and the #84 of Neal Dietz until Dietz would make contact with Coon sending the #96 for a spin off turn two. Timmerman would motor to his first win of the season followed by #96P of Jeff Pringle, #14 Daniel Majchrzak, #41 Timmy Lewis, Jr., and #40 Alan Bookmiller.

Kevin Timmerman captures his first win at ‘The Bullring’ in the Knapp Motorsports #11T (Photo Credit: Mike Piccirilli)

Capping off the evening was the return of the second leg of the Smash-n-Crash series, the Pirate Trailer Race.  Started off with a water balloon war between the fans and the 10 competitors, the 15 lap, carnage-filled event, would see Kyle Skoney bring home the victory for his third win in the event.

Next week at ‘The Bullring’ is Ladies Night at the Races, which means all the women in attendance will receive 50% of general admission to the event as our four weekly divisions of racing will return for more racing action.  Pit gates swing open at 3:30 pm, general admission opens at 4:00 pm, with racing action taking place beginning at 6:00 pm.


Official Results

SST Modifieds (30 laps, 16 cars): 1. KEVIN TIMMERMAN #11T, 2. Jeff Pringle #96P, 3. Daniel Majchrzak #14, 4. Timmy Lewis, Jr. #41, 5. Alan Bookmiller #40, 6. Neal Dietz, Jr. #84, 7. Zach Kosachook #5, 8. Garry Coon #96, 9. Cody Jenkins #92, 10. Carrie Bolton #6J, 11. Maddy Virts #27V, 12. Nate Michielsen #68, 13. Ryan Nugent #42, 14. Bill Kosachook #9, 15. Kory Lanni #49, 16. Tom Wiest #35

Heat Winners- Lewis, Jr., Pringle


Super Stocks (25 laps, 12 cars): 1. DAVE KRAWCZYK #11K, 2. Chase Williams #12, 3. Paul Flye #94, 4. Scott Gleed #03, 5. Joe Horvatits #4, 6. Tyler Day #1, 7. Ron Richter #31X, 8. Russ Bulger, Sr. #32, 9. Eric Hastreiter #47, 10. Daniel Majchrzak #14, 11. Frank Kline #33, 12. Eric Brown #48 (DQ)

Heat Winners- Krawczyk, Horvatits


6 Cylinders (20 laps, 9 cars): 1. BRIAN HALLETT #36, 2. Robert Cassidy #16, 3. John Parthemer #95, 4. Chris Deyoe, Jr. #14D, 5. Alison Knoepfler #35, 6. Angel Parthemer #77, 7. Frank Parsons, Jr. #14

DNS- Dori Parsons #91, Phil Rodriguez #81

Heat Winner- J. Parthemer


Grandpa Dog 4 Cylinders (20 laps, 17 cars): 1. BRIAR DILS #54, 2. Dave Heimes #8, 3. Greg Moldt #51, 4. Kenny Hejna #9 (Stock Winner), 5. Jason Anasiewicz #3, 6. Matt Hurlburt #14M, 7. Jonathan Klamut #7, 8. Kathie Ricketson #44, 9. Rob Laskowski #716, 10. Justin Sass #2, 11. Nick Galusha #94, 12. Jody Krieb #1, 13. Russ Bulger, Jr. #32, 14. Justin Vallone #8V, 15. Evan Reardon #87, 16. Bob Palmer #32NY, 17. Kevin Kocher #31

Heat Winners- Heimes, Dils

Permanent link to this article:

%d bloggers like this: